Buildxact IS NOT designed for two users or two sessions to work on the same estimate at the same time.

NOTE: In this article we talk about the multiple users being in the same estimate at the same time, but this issue can also be caused by:

  • One user having multiple tabs/windows open on a browser.

  • One user logging in on two devices, such as a laptop and a phone

How can I tell if there are other users in the estimate?

Buildxact will try and warn you if this is occurring by showing a coloured circle in the top right with the initials of the other user accessing the same estimate. Hovering over the intials will give information about the user's name and how long ago they edited the estimate why you were in there.

What should I do if see another user in the estimate with me?

There are two scenarios here:

  1. You're in an estimate, and someone else joins
    In this case we would recommend saving your work immediately and contacting the other user to advise them that you're working in there.

  2. You're accessing an estimate and someone is already there
    In this case just don't do anything, especially don't save anything. If you need the estimate urgently contact the other user to coordinate this.

What's the risk here

There is a significant risk here of one user overriding the other users work. This is explained in detail below, but put simply every time a user saves, we update the data we hold with what that user is saving, what they're saving may not include work that a second user has done.

Ok, give me the detail

When a Buildxact user goes from one "page" (a ''page'' is defined as something with a different URL) to another, the system checks our database to see the latest information. Here we have two sessions that have been created at the same time (ex: working on the same estimate Q1234 at the same time).

Both sessions get their data from the database and are in sync at this point in time.

Session 1 (green) adds an item to their estimate and pushes a save to the database.

The database now accepts this save now anytime a user loads this estimate they will receive Session 1's (green) data. This data is not pushed to Session 2 (red) creating an out of sync issue.

Session 2 (red), working with the original database information, adds an item to the estimate. When Session 2 (red) pushes a save to the database it now OVERRIDES the previous information.

As you can see, since Session 2 (red) added their save to the database Session 1's (green) data is lost.

This is just an example of one of the many issues that can be caused by unaware concurrent users. As a safety precaution, set up procedures to limit work on an estimate to a single session at a time.

Did this answer your question?